A Month To Get Through


Mid-April through mid-May is not my favorite time.  My dad’s birthday was April 18th and he passed away on May 13th.  It is a long 30+ days.  Over the past three years, I have tried to come up with ways to divert my attention.  The Game of Thrones is one way I have been able to channel my negative energy into something exciting.  Tomorrow night is the magical evening at 9 PM.  I will be waiting and enjoying myself immensely!!  I know it’s a TV show, but as a self professed TV junkie, I couldn’t be more excited (of course I would be remiss if I didn’t also include my love of Family Guy, Simpsons, Bob’s Burgers, American Dad, Archer, The Cleveland Show….I am a little bit obsessed).

Another way I have channeled my negative energy is in my new passion – boxing.  I have said this over and over, but Title Boxing has changed my life.  I can get lost in an hour work out, shocked when the time is done because it has gone so fast.  When I was a kid, my dad and I used to watch boxing regularly with each other.  HBO, I believe, use to have fight nights on the weekends and we would sit there and critique the moves (even though I wasn’t the least bit knowledgeable at what the boxers were doing, it was just me and my pops, bonding over something very cool).  As I aged, my folks divorced, and I came into my own interests away from those shared with my dad, I stopped watching boxing.  Deep down, however, I have always loved the sport.  Now as I work out, I’m not only getting a great work out, but I’m learning fundamentals, techniques, and making amazing friends.  I really wish my dad was still here, he would’ve been right there with me, enjoying every hit, every core work out, every warm up.  Title Boxing has changed me, and has helped me to lessen my grief and make the almost 30 days between my dad’s birthday and his passing more bearable.

For anybody in the Grand Rapids area interested in working out at Title Boxing, please visit the link below.  Your first work out is free (you just need to purchase wraps for the work out).  You will not be disappointed.

http://kentwood.titleboxingclub.com/

 

Leave a Reply

