Cancer Sucks!


It’s been a while since I have written anything for this blog.  Actually, it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything outside of discussion questions and educational papers.  Coming back to writing is based more upon emotion as opposed to the weird, quirky musings of person who really enjoys telling dorky stories that is intent on trying to make people laugh.  This time around, the writing is more somber.   Part of the mood comes from the title, Cancer Sucks.

For the past 6 months we’ve watched our vibrant dad valiantly fight mesothelioma with a vigor that only he could.  When we found out the diagnosis my first reaction was complete disbelief.  All my life, my dad has been a pillar of health.   As a power lifter he could lift triple his weight plus some.   I figured if anyone could prove the medical professionals wrong, it was my dad.  Unfortunately a month ago the prognosis was not what we thought.  Three to 7-weeks to live was what the doctor said.  Complete shock waged through me with fire-ball intensity.  The numbing feeling still, a month later, has not gone away.

While I’ve seen family and friends lose their battle with the dreaded “C” word, seeing your father go through the fight, knowing the inevitable is going to creep up on us, it puts you on a different level than I have ever been.  It’s not fun.  Dare I say, it sucks.  If there is anything I can garner from this experience is that health matters.  I have yo-yo ed in my weight for years; have said “this is the time to better myself.”  “I mean it this time.”   “I’m going to be skinny and healthy by January…February…March…April….”   Suddenly life is slapping a reality check across my face with its own leather glove and I do have to mean it now.  So, this blog is going to be my public journal.  My failures, successes and frustrations will be there for whoever wants to see.  This should be an interesting ride, a ride I have to promise myself I won’t chicken out like I did on the Mantis at Cedar Point.

One thought on “Cancer Sucks!

Leave a Reply

